An Open Letter to My Best Friend

An open letter to my best friend.

To my person,

When I met you, I had no idea that you’d leave such a big footprint in my life. I never knew that we would travel together, do crazy stupid things and go to hell and back in one single day. I never knew that the girl in the pink Aeropostale shirt was going to end up as my best friend the day we met.

I’m so thankful for the good, the bad and the ugly. The times we would have so much fun in so little time. The times we would get so mad at each other for the tiniest and stupidest things. And for the times we would go a week without talking. I’m thankful for every part of this friendship because without one second, it could all be different and I can’t imagine it any other way. People have come and gone in my life, but you always stuck by my side. Our friendship is one of the greatest gifts that God has ever given me.

I could go on and on about the positive effect you have had on my life. Whenever you walk through a door, your energy and smile light up the room. The love and compassion you have towards people and children is so special and unique.

You believed in me when I didn’t believe in myself. You loved me when I was hard to love. You listened to me when I didn’t have a voice. You let me cry in your arms when I was broken. But most importantly, you never gave up on me. That is special.

Every night that we hang out and do nothing, I remind myself it’s okay if we don’t do something fun and fancy because the real party is wherever we are—whether we are in bed watching The Notebook and letting our tears drip into our ice cream or we’re just sitting in a room doing nothing. Honestly, I’d rather be doing that over anything else because it’s the little things that are remembered the most {but really girl, we need to get out of the house every once in a while}.

You know me so well. You know what brings a smile to my face and you know what ticks me off. If I’m upset, you can tell just by the look on my face and you’re always with me until I feel better. When I am going through a tough time, you’re the first person to text me and make sure that I’m okay. You reassure me that God is going to get me through it and you’ll always be by my side. When my confidence is low, you tell me that I am a Child of God and am beautiful even if I don’t feel that I am. You laugh at my bad jokes; you share my love for sarcasm and my stupid sense of humor.

You fill my life with huge amounts of happiness and love. I know that in this season, God is taking us in different directions, but you will always be a big part of my life. If we don’t talk for some time, {even though we all know that won’t happen} I know that we will pick up right where we left off.

I hope that everyone in the world has someone like you in their lives. Thanks for being you, and never forget how much I appreciate all you do. I love you, A.

xoxo,

molly signature

2 thoughts on “An Open Letter to My Best Friend

Leave a comment